The Inspiration Behind This

euphoric

So what? This is just another blog on the Internet. What makes this one different? In fact, what is this one even about?

To be honest with you, I’m not even quite sure of all the answers to the above questions. You see, it’s October already. Soon enough, it’ll be November, which means the inevitable college applications will be due. At this time of year, I’m not quite sure of anything, especially the amount of sleep I’ll get per night.

Through all of these typical high school troubles, though, I’m still managing to have fun. It’s senior year. Are you really going to sit through this one the way you did for the past three years of high school? (The answer is no.)

My goal this year is to experience euphoria.

eu·pho·ri·a  [yoo-fawr-ee-uh, –fohr-]
noun
a state of intense happiness and self-confidence

How exactly will I accomplish that? Personally, I get the most satisfaction from doing what I love. It’s that simple. Designing, engaging in digital video production, singing, and playing the piano maximize utility for me (hehe, AP econ). It’s a long shot, but my dream career would be in the entertainment industry, be it as an entertainer or a designer. For the time being, I’m just following my passions in any way that I can, by designing flyers for ASB or producing videos for BBN. I guess you can say that I’m caught up in a dream.

I can’t take credit for that phrase. It stems from my love for the song “Wake Me Up” by Avicii and Aloe Blacc. I’m a fan of multiple genres of music, and this song’s EDM slash country mix perfectly blends into a euphoric piece that is now my personal anthem.

Thank you, Avicii and Aloe, for your musical creativity.

The inspirational lyrics of this song were what moved me the most (other than the extremely catchy and addictive melody). They’re an essential part of my collection of mantras. For more information on the songwriting process for this piece, I would suggest this Rolling Stone interview with Aloe Blacc.

Feeling my way through the darkness
Guided by a beating heart

Passion needs drive. It needs determination. It needs guidance, as Aloe writes, by a “beating heart.” If you love something, you must give it your all. You only get as much as you put in.

They tell me I’m too young to understand.
They say I’m caught up in a dream.

They say I’m caught up in a dream. Indeed I am. Everyone’s a dreamer. We all have our hopes, wants, needs, dreams, both attainable and unattainable (that’s what makes it fun). It’s never too early to start.

life will pass me by

Find out what you love and just do it. We only have a certain amount of time to live and you never know what’s coming next. I’m not saying YOLO (as in you only live once so do everything you’ve always wanted to do, even if it’s stupid), but things will go by very fast and before you know it, it’ll all be over. Take this moment to treasure life and live it to its fullest.

didnt know

It’s okay if you’re lost. It’s perfectly normal if you have no idea what you want to do or what you’re going to major in or what you’re going to be when you grow up. If you’re consciously “finding yourself,” then by literal definition, you’re lost. Sorry, buddy. But it’s okay if you’re lost, remember? Once you discover your passion, it will come naturally.

I can’t tell where the journey will end
But I know where to start.

Get caught up in your own dream. Start your journey. You may not know where you end up, but that’s not what’s important right now. Ask yourself “What if…?” and turn your dreams from seed to feed.

Leave a Reply

