My Least Favorite Day of the Year

Article2_ValentinesDayOver

Oh, look at all the flowers I’ll never get.

Yes, this is one of those posts. The bitter thoughts of a single person during the week of February 14th. Valentine’s Day? More like “Singles Awareness Day.” What better way to make single people feel worse about themselves than dedicating an entire holiday to everyone but them? I miss the elementary school days, when everyone in class got a Valentine card, and the only difference was perhaps putting a slightly bigger, prettier sticker on the card for the boy you had a crush on or attaching the good-tasting candy instead of the nasty cherry-flavored one.

6a00df351eabfd883400e5503e1e828833-800wi

The good ol’ days

Just recently, I had an epiphany. I’ve survived all four  years of high school without ever engaging in a legitimate relationship with another guy. In other words, the “sad” truth is…I’ve never had a boyfriend. Contrary to popular belief, having a boyfriend in high school isn’t necessary and definitely isn’t everything. It’s not the end of the world if you’re single. Sure, I might complain a little every time homecoming or prom come around (honestly, doing well on the SAT is easier for me than scoring a date). But when it really comes down to it, don’t believe the stuff you see in movies or read in books or hear in songs about high school boys.

fifteen-fanmade-single-cover-fearless-taylor-swift-album-14881938-591-591

Taylor Swift sings the following line in her song “Fifteen” about being a high school freshman: “Lookin’ at those senior boys who would wink at you and say, ‘You know I haven’t seen you around before.'” I can assure you this does not happen in real life. Or maybe it does, just not to me.

Also, I would like to debunk some myths.

MYTH:
People will think you’re weird if you don’t have a boyfriend.
THE TRUTH:
People will think you’re weird regardless of whether you have a boyfriend.

MYTH: 
But I’ll be so lonely if I don’t have a boyfriend!
THE TRUTH:
Do you not have friends or something?

MYTH:
He is SO nice, though!
THE TRUTH:
Nice guys exist? Where? Show me!

Final word of advice:
Ladies, you are strong, independent women who don’t need no man.

Don’t get me wrong, though. I don’t completely hate Valentine’s Day. It’s because of this holiday that I get to purchase chocolate for 50% off its original price the immediate day after. The best part? I get it all to myself. Just part of the perks of being single. 😉

Leave a Reply

